Skip to main content
Background Image URL //


Nominate a Mentee, Mentor, Colleague, or Friend for a 2019 ACOSA Award!

  • A call for 2019 nominations is forthcoming and are due in September!    
  • All award winners will be recognized during the Council on Social Work

  • Education’s Annual Program Meeting October 24-27, 2019 at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel in Denver, Colorado. 

    List of ACOSA Awards and Recent Recipients

    Career Achievement Award:  This award honors the lifetime contribution of a person in the field.
    Recent awardees include:  
  • Mark Homan (2018)
  • Tracy Michael Soska (2017)
  • Steve Burghardt (2016)
  • John Tropman (2015)

  • The Marie O. Weil Outstanding Scholarship Award:  This award recognizes outstanding scholarship published in the Journal of Community Practice during the previous volume year. Authors are selected for their contribution to the field, scholarly approach, and/or promotion of macro practice values. Taylor and Francis, the journal publisher, co-sponsors this award.
    Recent awardees include: 
  • Megan E. Gilster and Cristian L. Meier (2018)
  • Akilah Dulin Keita, Lonnie Hannon, David Buys, Krista Casazza, & Olivio Clay (2017)
  • Michael J. Parks (2016)
  • Alice B. Gates (2015)
  • Kelly L. Patterson, Tom Nochajski & Laiyun Wu (2015) 

  • Emerging Scholar Award:  This award honors a recent Ph.D. (pre-tenure) who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field.
    Recent awardees include:  
  • Megan Paceley (2018)
  • Jaime M. Booth (2017)
  • Samantha Teixeira (2016) 
  • Terri Friedline (2015)

  • Doctoral Student Award:  This award honors a current PhD student who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field.
    Recent awardees include: 
  • Joel Izlar (2017)
  • John Mathias (2016)

  • Outstanding Practitioner Award:  This award honors the significant contribution to a community of a BSW or MSW level macro practitioner
    Recent awardees include:  
  • Lora D. Hicks McDonald (2018)
  • Charles Edward Lewis, Jr. (2017)
  • Andrea Paluso (2016)

  • Outstanding Student Award:  This award recognizes the contribution of a BSW or MSW student who has been involved in community or organizational practice currently or in the past.
    Past awardees include:  
  • Danny Vang (2018)
  • Emma Martinez (2017)
  • Wayne State University School of Social Work Association of Black Social Workers (ABSW) (2017)
  • Coalition of Community Social Workers, Wayne State University (2016)
  • Jason Ostrander (2015)
    Past Award Recipients