

# **ACOSA Awards & Recipients**

#### **Career Achievement Award**

This award honors the lifetime contribution of a person in the field. Past awardees include:

- Michael Reisch (2019)
- Mark Homan (2018)
- Tracy Michael Soska (2017)
- Steve Burghardt (2016)
- John Tropman (2015)
- Alice Butterfield(2014)
- Claudia Coulton (2013)
- Dorothy Gamble (2012)
- Lee Staples (2011)
- Irving Spergel (2006)
- Michael Sherraden (2006)
- Michael Austin (2005)
- Jim Cunningham (2005)
- James Midgley (2004)
- Terry Mizrahi (2004)
- Rino Patti (2003)
- Roslyn Chernesky (2002)
- Earl Durham (2002)
- Armand A. Lauffer (2001)
- Ralph M. Framer (2001)
- Stanley Wenocur (2000)
- Tim Sampson (1999)
- Roger Lohmann (1998)
- Marie Weil (1998)
- Rosemary Sarri (1997)
- George Eberle (1997)
- Myron Weiner (1996)
- Richard Cloward (1996)
- Esther Wattenberg (1995)
- Felice Perlmutter (1994)
- Audrey Faulkner (1994)
- Simon Slavin (1993)
- George Brager (1993)
- David Austin (1992)
- Jack Rothman (1992)



## **Mid-Career Achievement Award**

The Mid-Career Achievement Award honors the meritorious service and scholarship contributions of a mid-career person in the field. Past awardees include:

• Julie Birkenmaier (2019)

# The Marie O. Weil Outstanding Scholarship Award

This award recognizes outstanding scholarship published in the *Journal of Community Practice* during the previous volume year. Authors are selected for their contribution to the field, scholarly approach, and/or promotion of macro practice values. Taylor and Francis, the journal publisher, co-sponsors this award. Past awardees include:

- Robert A. Case & Laura Zeglen (2019)
- Sean Young, Teresa Neumann & Philip Nyden (2019)
- Megan E. Gilster & Cristian L. Meier (2018)
- Akilah Dulin Keita, Lonnie Hannon, David Buys, Krista Casazza, & Olivio Clay (2017)
- Michael J. Parks (2016)
- Alice B. Gates (2015)
- Kelly L. Patterson, Tom Nochajski & Laiyun Wu (2015)
- Allison Zippay & Esther Son (2014)
- Samantha Teixeira & John M. Wallace (2014)
- Carmen Lavoie (2013)
- Claudia Coulton, Tsui Chan, & Kristen Mikelbank (2012)
- Trina R. Williams Shanks, Stephanie C. Boddie, & Solana Rice (2011)
- Tara La Rose (2010)
- Femida Handy & Meenaz Kassam (2006)
- Janet Finn (2005)
- Marla Berg-Weger, Susan S. Tebb, Cynthia A. Loveland Cook, Mary Beth Gallagher, Ashely Cruce, & Barbara Flory (2004)
- Donna Hardina (2003)

#### **Emerging Scholar Award**

This award honors a recent Ph.D. (pre-tenure) who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field. Past awardees include:

- Jama Shelton (2019)
- Megan Paceley (2018)



- Jaime M. Booth (2017)
- Samantha Teixeira (2016)
- Terri Friedline (2015)
- Amy Krings (2014)
- Laurie Walker (2014)
- Richard Smith (2013)
- Erick Guerrero (2012)
- David Androff (2011)
- Mary Ohmer (2008)
- Philip Young P. Hong (2006)
- Stephanie Boddie (2005)
- Robert Fischer (2003)
- Emily Spence-Diehl (2003)
- Ann Rosegrant Alvarez (2001)
- Deb Page-Adams (2000)
- Louise Simmons (2000)
- Julian Chow (1999)
- Susan Murty (1998)

## **Doctoral Student Award**

This award honors a current PhD student who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field. Past awardees include:

- Kerri Evans (2019)
- Joel Izlar (2017)
- John Mathias (2016)

#### **Outstanding Practitioner Award**

This award honors the significant contribution to a community of a BSW or MSW level macro practitioner. Past awardees include:

- Eric Jackson (2019)
- Lora D. Hicks McDonald (2018)
- Charles Edward Lewis, Jr. (2017)
- Andrea Paluso (2016)
- Jeff-Neal Singer (2014)
- Tom O'Brien (2013)
- Barbara Peppey (2006)
- Christopher Valley (2005)



- Paul Castelloe (2003)
- Sister Mary Alice Murphy (2002)

#### **Outstanding Student Award**

This award recognizes the contribution of a BSW or MSW student who has been involved in community or organizational practice currently or in the past. Past awardees include:

- Bezil Taylor (2019)
- Danny Vang (2018)
- Emma Martinez(2017)
- Wayne State University School of Social Work Association of Black Social Workers (ABSW) (2017)
- Coalition of Community Social Workers, Wayne State University (2016)
- Jason Ostrander (2015)
- Macro Social Work Student Network (2013)
- Patricia Oh (2008)
- Maria Glisson (2008)
- LaTonya Washington (2008)
- Sarabeth Kossove (2004)
- Eileen Newman (2002)